chewie’s blog

Time For The SportTrac To Go Buh-Bye

Posted in my life, truck by Chewie on October 2, 2007

So I’m sitting at a red light yesterday morning and all of a sudden my truck (2002 Explorer Sport Trac with 97k miles on it) starts to sputter violently.  The check engine light not only comes on, but is BLINKING at me. (not good)  So rather than continuing on to work, I head right over to the local garage.  To make a long story short, I’m $550 into the repairs and I “think” that it’s going to take a new engine to get it fixed… not! (been a while since I’ve seen a Wayne’s World reference so I thought I’d throw it in there).  I’m NOT putting that kind of $ into a truck with nearly 100k miles on it… so unless I can figure out that it’s something different, it’s headed to the graveyard.

In an unrelated note: anyone interested in a 2002 Ford Explorer SportTrac with 97k miles on it? 😉

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ford Radiators said, on November 7, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    Sorry to hear of your dilemma, unfortunately the V6 engines in these Explorers are subject to a lot of problems once 100k comes up on the ticker.

  2. Jason said, on December 21, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    I have a 2003 sport trac and I’m at 97K as well, and the same thing just happened to me. I was just driving along and all of a sudden the engine kicked down and starting running a little ruff, and the check engine light started flashing. Please let me know what was wrong with yours!


Leave a Reply

